Sungnyemun, the original name of the south gate of the Seoul, which is also called Namdaemun is the main south gate of the city wall of Seoul. It is the oldest building among wooden buildings located in Seoul; The construction was started in the fourth year of King Taejo(1395) and completed in the seventh year of King Taejo(1398). In addition, it was rebuilt during the 30th year of The Great King Sejong´s reign (1448) and renovated during 1961~1963.
The base structure is made of granite blocks pierced by a single arch for gateway.
The wooden superstructure is a two-storied pavilion, five comParkments on the front and two comParkments at the sides, with a hipped roof based on the arch of a gate in a form of a rainbow among highly stacked stone works .
The roof shaped like a trapezoid and it is called a hipped roof. ´Beam on the pillar method´ which decorated structures for bracing upper eaves are located not only on the top but also between pillars is used. The curves are not severe and the structure is robust by showing the characteristics of the construction in the early chosun dynasty.
It is a profusely-bracket-style building with intermediate sets. According to the record of "Jibong-yuseol", a book on the "practical science", Prince Yangnyeong wrote down "Sungnyemun" on the hanging board. This building is one of the worthy wooden architecture with accurate year of its construction. The reconstruction project is planned to complete the construction in Dec. 2012.